Upholding Ma'at

Journeying through the modern world with ancient ways.

Craft Friday: Mini Book

Leave a comment

As I’ve mentioned before bookbinding is a hobby of mine, albeit I’m not very good.    So when I found a relatively simple “book” project to try as an outlet of my spring fever I figured it wouldn’t be too hard.  Here’s how it turned out.  It also allowed an outlet for my pre-spring fever.

Instead of grabbing an envelope I made one from this tutorial.  Using this tutorial allowed me to use some double-sided cardstock in lieu of the doilies and covering the envelope flap with a different paper as suggested in the book tutorial.  I also deviated from the book tutorial by using coin envelopes for the main pouch in lieu of the pull-out gift tag.

I didn’t use gift tags for the cover either.  Instead I used some cardstock to make the cover, hole punched it, and decorated with my own flower pin to go inside.

 

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I decorated with some leftover brads from a previous bookbinding project.  I also used the stickers for an upcoming project for which I can’t use for it.

 

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I had some pictures from a planner about fairies that I decided would work for this project.  Eventually I settled on one.   I tried to keep it simple.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I think this page is the only time I used some gift tags.  I used up the last of my brads from the other book project on this page.  If you look closely you can even see my fingers.

 

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

 

For the pouch I decorated it with some more stickers.  The coin envelopes are tucked inside this pouch.

 

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Here’s a closer look at the coin envelopes, front and back.  I haven’t decided what to put in there yet.

 

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

 

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I personally consider it a work in progress, but that’s fine by me.  I can add as time goes on and add keepsakes in the envelopes.

Leave a Reply

