Upholding Ma'at

Journeying through the modern world with ancient ways.

Craft Friday: How to Make 3D Stickers

Leave a comment

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

As I scrapbook more I’ve realized I can’t afford all the pretty stickers I want. Until the magical, far away day arrives where I have lots of disposable income I have to get creative in my stickers. I found some stuff at a few craft stores that solved this problem. I’ll show you how I made a basic version of the 3D sticker.

WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

1 sheet cardstock

1 printer

scissors

1 craft knife (optional)

2 foam dot circles

1 sticker adhesive sheet

1 bone folder (a butter knife will work if a bone folder is unavailable)

1.  Take the image, adjust it to print multiple copies on one sheet. Print. TIP: I’ve learned the hard way why it’s important to ensure the image fits the resizing.

2.  Cut out the images. Make a point to cut out only the parts which can be layered and will emphasize the sticker. I recommend no more than three pieces. TIP: After cutting out the images feel free to decorate these parts. Bear in mind it should add emphasis to the sticker and won’t be obscured when layering.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

3.  Take a foam dot circle and remove the paper from one side. Place the sticky side down on the biggest image.
Remove the paper from the other side of the same dot and place the second image on top.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA
4.  Flip the final image over. Use the pointed end of the bone folder to scour the outline of the image. Rub it down between these lines to make the image pop out more (sorry you can’t see it in this image.  I really tried).  TIP: If you own a lightbox, use it for this step. It will make outlining much easier.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA
5.  Remove the paper from the circle dot. Place the top image on the dot.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA
6.  Remove the cover sheet on the adhesive sheet. Place the image on the sheet; rub down as much as possible.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

You now have a sticker. You can cut away the excess paper if you’d like (though I’m not sure how well that would have worked with this piece) but always make sure to carefully peel the sticker off.

Leave a Reply

