Upholding Ma'at

Journeying through the modern world with ancient ways.

Craft Friday: Star Straws

Leave a comment

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

If you’re like me, you like to celebrate the holidays with ritual and parties. Wep Ronpet has been a bit challenging for me because I’m not very creative, so I gravitated towards a star theme. This led me to my party idea of star drinking straws. You can either buy some straws at the store or check for tutorials and make your own. Here’s how I made mine.

WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  • Paper drinking straws
  • 1 sheet blue cardstock
  • Scissors
  • Glitter glue
  • School glue
  • Printer
  • Pens and markers (optional)

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Make a template of the stars to use with the clipart provided on a word processor program. I’d probably stick to 1 inch, 2 inches if you want large stars like I used. TIP: Be sure the lines on the stars are 0.04 inches. This will make the stars show up better.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA
After printing off the sheet on cardstock cut the stars out. Save the cardstock remnants for a later step.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA
Decorate the stars with glitter glue. If you really want to have some fun write your guests’ names on the stars, or draw a picture of Sopdet on it.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA
Take the scraps of cardstock from the previous steps and cut some strips about 1/4 inch thick. Wrap the strips around the straw, trim, and glue the ends together.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA
Place a drop of school glue on the seam and place the star on it. Let it dry decorated side down.

This is a fairly easy craft and one that’s enjoyable. I found I could make a few and, if enough space is left, can allow guests to keep the star for other uses.

Leave a Reply

