Upholding Ma'at

Journeying through the modern world with ancient ways.

Why I’ve Been Quiet

Leave a comment

This is atypical for my posts, but I feel it’s necessary. As I’ve stated before I tend to take on a lot of projects at once at the cost of biting off more than I can chew. This is another one of those moments.

The short of a long – and without going into too many details to keep everything separate – I agreed to join a project. It seemed like a nice way to keep certain skills and creative juices going so I could apply that creativity in other aspects of my life. That project has taken off in less than a month. Since it’s flying as fast as a rocket that means I’ve had to give the project more time and focus. I’ve since left the project due to a few reasons. One of the big ones is creative differences, namely in the form of old artistic habits of mine cropping up. I tend to be very hard-nosed about things and given how relaxed others approach these things I felt I was going to ruin the dynamic. The other main reason was because I couldn’t devote to it on the same level as others involved since I had other projects simultaneously.

There’s also been an issue of life showing up. It’s just the way it is. I have bills I need to pay like everyone else. That also means, in addition to scraping up money for bills, scraping up money to fund other projects. Most of them are coming together at roughly the same time and I need to look at which budget is feasible in order to decide which one comes first. That means expect me to plug my etsy store more often to raise the money. I tried to keep that happening for a while because I felt it would get in the way of my goals with the blog, so I tried to stave it off with ads on the side. That hasn’t been working out well. I apologize for the massive pluggery ahead of time.

I’m honestly excited about these projects. Currently all of them are chapbook, but will pave the way for something I can’t wait to get started. That particular project will take some time as I try to research the very scant information about Ancient Egyptian literature. Once I have enough information gathered I’m going to create a chapbook specifically aimed at combining modern Kemetic elements of religion with what we do know of Ancient Egyptian literature. There are other projects in the works, but I’m dealing with those as they come right now as well.

I also took some time for myself. I’ve been highly stressed and overwhelmed lately and wanted to take some time off. I feel while I’m not fully recharged I am more capable of tackling what’s necessary. I’m still going to take it easy, which means posting infrequently will continue for a little bit longer. Hopefully it will be sorted out soon. Until then hold on and keep checking for updates.

Leave a Reply

